Your learning is our purpose

As a not-for-profit, we focus on your learning outcomes, not our profits.

About us

We offer internationally recognised professional development opportunities for osteopaths - designed to maximise your learning outcomes, not our profits.

We are a registered not-for-profit organisation and have been successfully delivering educational courses within Australia and New Zealand for over 25 years.

Our focus is programs inspired from the work of Dr William Garner Sutherland who was an osteopathic practitioner researcher.


The cranial field of osteopathy

Have a listen to Dr Edna Lay DO, FAAO, FCA in the video, who was a well known osteopathic educator, give an overview and introduction to osteopathy in the cranial field.

Our history

The Sutherland Cranial Teaching Foundation of Australia and New Zealand (SCTF of ANZ) is a not for profit company limited by guarantee. It was formed more than 25 years ago by a dedicated group of osteopaths. These osteopathic practitioners studied extensively in England and the United States with osteopaths who studied with Dr Sutherland. They were inspired to bring Osteopathy in the Cranial Field (OCF) to their colleagues in Australia and New Zealand.

Initially affiliated with the SCTF in the USA, the SCTF of ANZ is now an independent organisation. The SCTF of ANZ continues to maintain a strong association with teaching groups in the USA, the UK and Europe. Members of the teaching faculty regularly travel to study and teach in international programs. The President of the SCTF of ANZ Board (or nominee) meets annually with the Board of the SCTF in the USA.

Since the first ‘Fundamentals’ course in Melbourne in 1991, the group has expanded to a faculty of more than 40 osteopaths from all over Australia and New Zealand who share a commitment to the advancement of education and teaching in osteopathy. This has enabled the teaching schedule to expand from the initial 40-hour Fundamentals of Osteopathy in the Cranial Field program to the extended program of courses now offered (see ‘courses’ page).

The Board of Directors, drawn from the faculty, gives their time voluntarily to administer the SCTF of ANZ. The founding members maintain their involvement with the SCTF of ANZ continuing to teach, assist with course development and provide ongoing advice.

Our mission

To support practising osteopaths and their patients with the teaching and practice of the principles of osteopathy in the cranial field as created by Dr W.G.Sutherland.

Our vision

To disseminate knowledge and increase the proficiency of practitioners serving their patients through the provision of high quality, best practice post-graduate education and training.

Meet our board

Tink Gee


Tink has been practising as an Osteopath since 2004 after graduating from a five year double degree at Victoria University.

In 2011, Tink also completed a Graduate Certificate in Infant and Neonatal Paediatrics for Manual Therapists and was titled by Osteopathy Australia as an Advanced Paediatric Osteopath (tertiary) in June 2020. 

Tink is also a current Board Director with Osteopathy Australia. She was previously a committee member for the Paediatric Clinical Practice Group for Osteopathy Australia which further reflects her passion for paediatrics in osteopathy.

Catherine McDonald


Cate graduated from RMIT in 1995, obtaining a five year double degree, Bachelor of Applied Science (Clinical Science) and a Bachelor of Osteopathic Science.

Cate has since completed a Graduate Certificate in Neonatal and Infant Paediatric Manual Therapy. 

Cate's experience includes over 20 years in practice and over eight years teaching. Cate has also been a Faculty Member for the Australian Research College of Osteopathic Medicine since 2014. 

Chris Macfarlane

Vice president

Chris graduated from the British School of Osteopathy in 1988 and shortly after returned to Australia to develop a parallel career in practice and teaching. 

In addition to his 30+ years of practice experience, Chris has lectured on a broad range of topics at RMIT, VU and Endeavour College. He also taught in New Zealand for RMIT's and taught a graduate diploma.

He completed a Masters in Professional Education and Training at Deakin University in 2010 and his PhD at Victoria University in 2022.

Amanda Heyes

Board Member

Amanda has been involved with SCTFANZ for 30 years. She has taught on multiple programs including the Fundamentals and The Face. Amanda is a past president of SCTFANZ and of The Osteopathy Board of Australia. She is also a member of Osteopathy Australia and registered with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulatory Agency (AHPRA).

Amanda practices in Perth and has an aim to bring more programs to Perth.

Brooke Franklin

Board Member

Brooke completed a five year double degree, Bachelor of Applied Science (Clinical Science) and a Bachelor of Osteopathic Science at RMIT. Brooke has since completed a number of professional development courses in the cranial field.

Brooke is registered with AHPRA and is a member of the Australian Osteopathic Association.

About our board

The Board comprises volunteers from the SCTF of ANZ faculty. Nomination for board positions may occur at any time or at the annual general meeting. Our annual general meeting is usually held in March each year. 

President: Tink Gee
Vice President: Catherine McDonald
Treasurer: Chris Macfarlane
General Board Members: Brooke Franklin and Amanda Heyes

Our constitution

Join one of our courses today

Partner with us for your professional development needs. We regularly host courses on a variety of topics - with a special focus on cranial and indirect osteopathic techniques.

Upcoming training



Acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the traditional custodians of the land and acknowledges and pays respect to their elders, past and present.

Is committed to safe and inclusive workplaces, policies and services for people of LGBTQIA+ communities.