About Us

Our History

The Sutherland Cranial Teaching Foundation of Australia and New Zealand (SCTF of ANZ) is a not for profit company limited by guarantee. It was formed more than 25 years ago by a dedicated group of osteopaths. These osteopathic practitioners studied extensively in England and the United States with osteopaths who studied with Dr Sutherland. They were inspired to bring Osteopathy in the Cranial Field (OCF) to their colleagues in Australia and New Zealand.

Initially affiliated with the SCTF in the USA, the SCTF of ANZ is now an independent organisation. The SCTF of ANZ continues to maintain a strong association with teaching groups in the USA, the UK and Europe. Members of the teaching faculty regularly travel to study and teach in international programs. The President of the SCTF of ANZ Board (or nominee) meets annually with the Board of the SCTF in the USA.

Since the first ‘Fundamentals’ course in Melbourne in 1991, the group has expanded to a faculty of more than 40 osteopaths from all over Australia and New Zealand who share a commitment to the advancement of education and teaching in osteopathy. This has enabled the teaching schedule to expand from the initial 40-hour Fundamentals of Osteopathy in the Cranial Field program to the extended program of courses now offered (see ‘courses’ page).

The Board of Directors, drawn from the faculty, gives their time voluntarily to administer the SCTF of ANZ. The founding members maintain their involvement with the SCTF of ANZ continuing to teach, assist with course development and provide ongoing advice.

Our Mission

To support practising osteopaths and their patients with the teaching and practice of the principles of osteopathy in the cranial field as created by Dr W.G.Sutherland.

Our Vision

To disseminate knowledge and increase the proficiency of practitioners serving their patients through the provision of high quality, best practice post-graduate education and training.

Our Board

The Board comprises volunteers from the SCTF of ANZ faculty. Nomination may occur at any time or at the annual general meeting. The AGM is usually held in the March of any year. See the resources page for the constitution and nomination forms.

President: Chris Macfarlane
Vice President: Catherine McDonald
Treasurer: Tink Gee
General Board Members: Benjamin Stringer, Prue Eddie, Brooke Franklin


What does this mean? It means that the proceeds from the fees that we generate from the courses we run go to fund the expenses of the organisation, such as the website, Learning Portal and accounting costs. We pay the tutors a nominal rate for their time out of practice on courses, plus any expenses such as flights and accommodation. The surplus we then have reinvested into the development of the Learnign Portal and we have set aside a pool of money that we intend to use to support research into osteopathy in the cranial field. So watch this space for more details.

Chris Macfarlane
Catherine McDonald
Tink Gee
Prue Eddie
Brooke Franklin